Blog Entries

Blog Type
Tags
Staff Member

Middle Grade Book Spotlight--Detective Stories!!!

Our middle grade book spotlight this week is taking a look at Detective Stories!!!  Now, these stories do not have to be your traditional Sherlock Holmes type stories for them to be considered “detective”.  Instead, these stories are ones that our main characters are trying to solve and figure something out; for some it may be a murder or a dead body but for others it could be something from their past or even a trying to figure out if bigfoot really does exist.  You will be trying to solve right along with the leads and become a detective yourself!  These books and more...

Blog Type: Kids
Read Full Post

Teen Book Spotlight--Detective Stories!!!

Our teen book spotlight this week is taking a look at Detective Stories!!!  Now, these stories do not have to be your traditional Sherlock Holmes type stories for them to be considered “detective”.  Instead, these stories are ones that our main characters are trying to solve and figure something out; for some it may be a murder or a dead body but for others it could be something from their past or even a trying to figure out if a stranger is really a famous author.  You will be trying to solve right along with the leads and become a detective yourself!  These books and m...

Blog Type: Teens
Read Full Post

Monster Mash Storytime Week!

We’re doing the monster mash this week at our HRLS storytime! Head over to join the fun and type into the search bar above, #monstermash for some great titles you can check out while you’re there.

 
Here is a look at our fall pre-reader programs. Events that require registration can be found on our events calendar. Click on the event you wish to register for, then scroll down to fill in the form. Please register all caregivers and children for preschool age programs. 

Here are a few not-so-scary songs for your week!

Five Little Monsters  Blog Type: Kids

Read Full Post

Middle Grade Book Spotlight--Thrillers & Suspense!!!

Our middle grade book spotlight this week is on books that are filled with suspense and thrills!! Sometimes I think these are the scariest types of books because you have no idea what is going to happen next and your brain prepares for the worst as you turn the page, not knowing what is going to be there waiting for you.  If you are looking for a read that is going to keep you on the edge of your seat then you have come to the right place!  These books and more can be found by searching the catalog using the search tag #youththriller as well as on Libby and Hoopla.  Check bac...

Blog Type: Kids
Read Full Post

Teen Book Spotlight--Thrillers & Suspense!!!

Our teen book spotlight this week is on books that are filled with thrills and suspense!!  These are the reads that are going to keep on the edge of your seat as you have no idea what is going to be on the next page.  You will find yourself holding your breath, either in fear or anticipation, and wanting to know what comes next; there may be some speechless or mouth dropped open moments.  These books and more can be found by searching the catalog using the search tag #yathriller as well as on Libby and Hoopla.  Check back next week for a new teen book spotlight and if yo...

Blog Type: Teens
Read Full Post

Three Interesting Author Talks Coming Up!

The Friends of Handley Regional Library System will be presenting three informative author talks focusing on different genres.

On Saturday, October 30, a Virtual Author Talk with author Judy Prescott Marshall will be held at 11 AM on Zoom. Registration Information can be found at www.handleyregional.org to receive the Zoom Link. The author of Still Crazy will talk, take questions, and offer a door prize. Her book is great for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Debbie Macomber. Still Crazy is the story of one woman’s journey through pain, betrayal, and forgiveness as she le...

Read Full Post

Middle Grade Book Spotlight--Medieval Times!!!

Our Middle Grade book spotlight this week is focused on books that are going to take us back in time to the land of knights and castles, jousting matches and a disease that could kill you within hours of infection--we are going back to Medieval Times!!!  All of our titles this week take place during the framework considered to be Medieval Times or the Middle Ages so we are talking the years 500-1500; this is when kings ruled the lands, there was constant fighting and battling, and King Arthur kind of took over the tales of the time.  We have some great nonfiction, interactive adve...

Blog Type: Kids
Read Full Post

Teen Book Spotlight--Medieval Times!!!

Our teen book spotlight this week is focused on books that are going to take us back in time to the land of knights and castles, jousting matches and a disease that could kill you within hours of infection--we are going back to Medieval Times!!!  All of our titles this week take place during the framework considered to be Medieval Times or the Middle Ages so we are talking the years 500-1500; this is when kings ruled the lands, there was constant fighting and battling, and King Arthur kind of took over the tales of the time.  We have some great nonfiction, graphic novels, fantasy,...

Blog Type: Teens
Read Full Post

Read this, Try That!

By Lydia Mathers

 

As much as I love to read, I'm also big on crafting. Making something with your hands can be so rewarding, and there are tons of ideas hidden in the Young Adult (YA) fiction section. With that in mind, I made this "Read This, Try That!" list that combines fictional stories with related nonfiction craft advice and inspiration. Keep reading to find your next creative outlet!

  Read: Will & Whit by Laura Lee Gulledge

Wilhelmina "Will" Huxstep is a creative soul struggling to come to terms with a family tragedy. She crafts whi...

Blog Type: Teens
Read Full Post

Let's Have a Hoedown Storytime Week!

Are you ready for a Hoedown? We'll be enjoying storytimes all week in the spirit of the Handley Harvest Hoedown.  We have some great books to go along with our theme and you can find them by clicking the search bar above and typing in the tag: #hoedown. 

You can find a storytime that is just right for you this week too! Events that require registration can be found on our events calendar. Click on the event you wish to register for, then scroll down to fill in the form. Please register all caregivers and children for preschool age programs. 

Here are ...

Blog Type: Kids
Read Full Post

I Love STEAM Storytime Week

The library staff at HRLS love STEAM! That includes Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics! We have some great books to cover all of your STEAM interests and you can find them by clicking the search bar above and typing in the tag: #steamworks. 

You can find a storytime that is just right for you this week too! Events that require registration can be found on our events calendar. Click on the event you wish to register for, then scroll down to fill in the form. Please register all caregivers and children for preschool age programs. 

Here are so...

Blog Type: Kids
Read Full Post

Lots of Fun for Kids at Handley in October!

Handley Regional Library System will be presenting three epic programs for kids at the Handley Library Branch in October: Girls Who Code Club, Handley Harvest Hoedown, and FrankenToys.

"Girls Who Code” is a series that explores beginner coding skills in a fun and friendly environment just for girls. The program is intended for ages 8-11 and will run on Thursdays from October 13 to November 17 in the Benham Gallery at the Handley Library branch at 4:30 PM. The series lasts six weeks and registration is required for the entire program. Girls Who Code values diversity, equity, and in...

Blog Type: Homepage Kids
Read Full Post

Teen Book Spotlight--Orange & Black Covers!!!

Our teen book spotlight this week is focused on books that have Orange and Black covers to help get us in the Halloween spirit!!!  Let’s be real here for a minute because we all judge and choose a book on the front cover (most of the time) even though we are told not to do so, but that can honestly lead us to read some books that we would not have picked up otherwise.  Since we are choosing these books based on their front covers, then we have an amazing selection that are all completely different from realistic to historical, dystopian and science fiction! These books and more ca...

Blog Type: Teens
Read Full Post

Middle Grade Book Spotlight--Orange & Black Covers!!!

Our Middle Grade book spotlight this week is focused on books that have Orange and Black covers to help get us in the Halloween spirit!!!   Let’s be real here for a minute because we all judge and choose a book on the front cover (most of the time) even though we are told not to do so, but that can honestly lead us to read some books that we would not have picked up otherwise.  Since we are choosing these books based on their front covers, then we have an amazing selection that are all completely different from realistic to humor, fantasy, adventure and some nonfiction!  Thes...

Blog Type: Kids
Read Full Post

Community Helpers Storytime Week

Who are our community helpers? There are so many people that help keep our community safe and working, including firefighters, nurses, postal workers, construction workers and more! Join us as we celebrate them all week long! We have some great books too about community helpers and you can find them by clicking the search bar above and typing in the tag: #communityhelpers. 

Find a storytime that is just right for you this week too! You can register where necessary by going to our events calendar, click on the event you wish to attend, then scroll down to fill in the form. Ple...

Blog Type: Kids
Read Full Post