Blog Entries

Blog Type
Tags
Staff Member

Happy National Pet Month

In celebration of pets, May is recognized as National Pet Month. It’s a wonderful time to show a little extra appreciation for our furry friends, and books are always a great resource for everything, including learning something fun about your pets! 

In addition to learning from these books, you can also just enjoy feel-good animal stories. In The Healing Power of Pets: Harnessing the Amazing Ability of Pets to Make and Keep People Happy and Healthy, we see the positive impact pets can have on our lives. I know that for me, I'm always cheered up from a difficult day when I ...

Read Full Post

Family History Corner

Researching Common Surnames:

May 2022

My last name is Smith.  I have been told that our ancestors changed our surname before immigrating to the United States from Poland.  I have hesitated to attempt any research because I feel like I truly have a generic name.  Would it even be possible to learn anything about this family?

-A Researcher

Your question really has two parts to it.  How can I find the original Surname of my family? If it is a common surname, how do I research it properly?  Having a generic surname can be very fr...

Read Full Post

Marvelous Us! Part III

In Marvelous Us! Part I and Part II we explored books related to our marvelous human bodies. Although popular culture over-emphasizes how our bodies may look, we often fail to appreciate how our bodies function. Whether or not you are happy with the way your body looks, the way it functions is truly marvelous. We take for granted the complex inner workings of the human body until something is out of balance, then we cannot stop thinking about it.

We are all familiar with the foundations of good health: eat well, sleep well and exercise regularly. A bit easier said than done, but t...

Read Full Post

News Maker: Adrienne Davis

Adrienne Davis, the branch manager of Handley Library, was recently interviewed by News Director Scott Bradley of The River 95.3 for a radio program called News Makers. The program features community organizations and citizens that are making a difference in the northern Shenandoah Valley and can be heard every weekday mornings at 8:30am. You can also listen to current and past episodes on the website https://theriver953.com/news-makers/.

Adrienne talked to Scott about our "Push Your Shelf" Challenge Bingo and our libraries once again offering in person programs. To hear the ...

Read Full Post

Pushing My Shelf During the Bingo Challenge 2022: Todd

In this installment of the Pushing My Shelf blog series, Todd talks about finding just the right kind of magazine.

This month we thought we would do a blog series for the Push Your Shelf Bingo Challenge. The challenge is to complete Bingo squares that “push your shelf.” In other words, read or try something that you might not ordinarily consider; something not typically found on your bookshelf. Find out more here.

To cheer you on some participating staff members* are contributing short blogs that recount their experience completing a Bingo challenge and describing how th...

Read Full Post

Which records should I be trying to get? Where do I get the records I need for my genealogy work?

Q: Which records should I be trying to get?

 Where do I get the records I need for my genealogy work?

Like any good artist there comes a time in the creative process where a decision must be made.  Should I put a mountain here or a tree over there?  What colors should I use, etc. to make everything look beautifully balanced on the canvas.  So also, should a genealogist make vital decisions to have their family canvas develop beautifully. 

Once you have identified what you already know about your family from your personal memories and f...

Read Full Post

Don't Miss These Jolly Holiday Events!

Handley Regional Library System will be presenting several programs for adults, kids, teens, and families for the month of December to reflect the holiday season.

Chanukah Lights is a program to celebrate the Chanukah holiday of lights. Hear the story "If the Candles Could Speak." Make a menorah and play the dreidel game. Bowman Library, December 2, 5:00 PM.

A Who-ville Christmas will Celebrate the holiday with the Whos! Come dressed in your Whoville holiday finest. Stories, puppets, and singing around the tree. Bowman Library, December 4, 11:00 AM.

During A C...

Read Full Post

November is Native American Heritage Month!

 

In recognition of the original inhabitants of America, November has been designated Native American Heritage Month. President George H. W. Bush signed a joint resolution in 1990 establishing the month-long celebration of indigenous culture and contributions to the United States.  When we think of First Nations we often consider them in a historical context, but there are 574 federally recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Native Villages in the United States today, with about 2 million members, according to the U.S. Department of the Interior Bureau of Indian Af...

Read Full Post

A Little Noon Music is Back!

The Friends of Handley Regional Library System is thrilled to announce the return of the A Little Noon Music program at the Handley Library location.

A Little Noon Music is a free program where performers come to the library during the lunch hour for the public to enjoy varied styles of music. This current series highlights four different performers over the next few months.

The first performance will be on Friday, November 12, from 12:15 PM to 1:00 PM, at Handley Regional Auditorium at the Handley Library branch and will feature Allen Dec. Mr. Dec is a harpist who has...

Read Full Post

Three Interesting Author Talks Coming Up!

The Friends of Handley Regional Library System will be presenting three informative author talks focusing on different genres.

On Saturday, October 30, a Virtual Author Talk with author Judy Prescott Marshall will be held at 11 AM on Zoom. Registration Information can be found at www.handleyregional.org to receive the Zoom Link. The author of Still Crazy will talk, take questions, and offer a door prize. Her book is great for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Debbie Macomber. Still Crazy is the story of one woman’s journey through pain, betrayal, and forgiveness as she le...

Read Full Post

Author Talk at Handley: Southern Fried Russia: From Communism to KFC

The Friends of Handley Regional Library System will be presenting an informative and entertaining talk with author Robert Linkous in the Handley Robinson Auditorium at the Handley Library branch on October 6, 2021 in person at 6:30 PM. The program is entitled “Southern Fried Russia: From Communism to KFC.”

Author, Robert Linkous will read and discuss the first chapter in his book “Southern Fried Russia: From Communism to KFC”. There will be time for Q & A.

Robert Linkous was born in Radford, grew up in Roanoke, read Jack Kerouac, and hitchhiked the length of the...

Read Full Post

A Look Back at Virtual Program "Third Thursday-Exploring the Outdoors"

In a time when most of us were spending more time with friends and family outside thanks to COVID-19, The Friends of Handley Regional Library System brought us a multi-part virtual series titled "Third Thursday-Exploring the Outdoors". Each month featured a different outdoor enthusiast presenting their story and sharing tips to enjoy the outdoors. While this program will take a break for the month of August, it will be back in September! Here's a look back at past sessions:

January 21, 2021-The premier featured two Appalachian Trail hikers, Rose "Comics" Turner...

Read Full Post

New Virtual Exploring the Library Adult Summer Reading Series

In conjunction with the 2021 Adult Summer Reading Program, library staff held a series of virtual workshops about Exploring the Library to help patrons best utilize the library and its resources. 

Programs in this series focused on Library platforms that provide digital content to our patrons including eBooks, Audiobooks, Magazines, Music, Comics, and streaming video. The three platforms explored were Libby (for iOS and Android, Hoopla, and Amazon Kindle).

Below is a list of the workshops with a link to the video recordings of each.

Workshop 1: Blog Type: Adult Program Page Homepage Adults News

Read Full Post

One-on-One Seeker Job Assistance Offered by NW Works at Handley Library

Handley Regional Library System is excited to announce a program where individuals can get one-on-one job seeker help from NW Works at Handley Library.  Held the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays of each month from 11AM-12PM, the public can meet with a representative from NW Works for help searching for a job, filling out an application, making a resume, and other job search related tasks. 

To get help, patrons can inquire at the Information Desk at Handley Library during the program time.  Registration is not required.  The individual job seeker program complements the o...

Read Full Post

Dr. Karen Huff to Discuss Children’s Literature at Friends of Handley Regional Library System Annual Meeting

The Friends of Handley Regional Library System will hold their annual meeting on May 19th from 7:00PM-8:30PM online through Zoom.  The meeting is open to the public where the Friends will formally announce the slate of officers for the upcoming year where members of the Friends can vote during the session.  After voting, Dr. Karen Huff, from Shenandoah University, will give a presentation titled, Shenandoah University's Children's Literature Conference:  Continuing the Legacy of Nancy Larrick Crosby.  Crosby, a Winchester native born in 1910, was a Professor of Education...

Read Full Post