Blog Entries

Blog Type
Tags
Staff Member

Don't Miss These Jolly Holiday Events!

Handley Regional Library System will be presenting several programs for adults, kids, teens, and families for the month of December to reflect the holiday season.

Chanukah Lights is a program to celebrate the Chanukah holiday of lights. Hear the story "If the Candles Could Speak." Make a menorah and play the dreidel game. Bowman Library, December 2, 5:00 PM.

A Who-ville Christmas will Celebrate the holiday with the Whos! Come dressed in your Whoville holiday finest. Stories, puppets, and singing around the tree. Bowman Library, December 4, 11:00 AM.

During A C...

Read Full Post

November is Native American Heritage Month!

 

In recognition of the original inhabitants of America, November has been designated Native American Heritage Month. President George H. W. Bush signed a joint resolution in 1990 establishing the month-long celebration of indigenous culture and contributions to the United States.  When we think of First Nations we often consider them in a historical context, but there are 574 federally recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Native Villages in the United States today, with about 2 million members, according to the U.S. Department of the Interior Bureau of Indian Af...

Read Full Post

A Little Noon Music is Back!

The Friends of Handley Regional Library System is thrilled to announce the return of the A Little Noon Music program at the Handley Library location.

A Little Noon Music is a free program where performers come to the library during the lunch hour for the public to enjoy varied styles of music. This current series highlights four different performers over the next few months.

The first performance will be on Friday, November 12, from 12:15 PM to 1:00 PM, at Handley Regional Auditorium at the Handley Library branch and will feature Allen Dec. Mr. Dec is a harpist who has...

Read Full Post

Three Interesting Author Talks Coming Up!

The Friends of Handley Regional Library System will be presenting three informative author talks focusing on different genres.

On Saturday, October 30, a Virtual Author Talk with author Judy Prescott Marshall will be held at 11 AM on Zoom. Registration Information can be found at www.handleyregional.org to receive the Zoom Link. The author of Still Crazy will talk, take questions, and offer a door prize. Her book is great for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Debbie Macomber. Still Crazy is the story of one woman’s journey through pain, betrayal, and forgiveness as she le...

Read Full Post

Author Talk at Handley: Southern Fried Russia: From Communism to KFC

The Friends of Handley Regional Library System will be presenting an informative and entertaining talk with author Robert Linkous in the Handley Robinson Auditorium at the Handley Library branch on October 6, 2021 in person at 6:30 PM. The program is entitled “Southern Fried Russia: From Communism to KFC.”

Author, Robert Linkous will read and discuss the first chapter in his book “Southern Fried Russia: From Communism to KFC”. There will be time for Q & A.

Robert Linkous was born in Radford, grew up in Roanoke, read Jack Kerouac, and hitchhiked the length of the...

Read Full Post

A Look Back at Virtual Program "Third Thursday-Exploring the Outdoors"

In a time when most of us were spending more time with friends and family outside thanks to COVID-19, The Friends of Handley Regional Library System brought us a multi-part virtual series titled "Third Thursday-Exploring the Outdoors". Each month featured a different outdoor enthusiast presenting their story and sharing tips to enjoy the outdoors. While this program will take a break for the month of August, it will be back in September! Here's a look back at past sessions:

January 21, 2021-The premier featured two Appalachian Trail hikers, Rose "Comics" Turner...

Read Full Post

New Virtual Exploring the Library Adult Summer Reading Series

In conjunction with the 2021 Adult Summer Reading Program, library staff held a series of virtual workshops about Exploring the Library to help patrons best utilize the library and its resources. 

Programs in this series focused on Library platforms that provide digital content to our patrons including eBooks, Audiobooks, Magazines, Music, Comics, and streaming video. The three platforms explored were Libby (for iOS and Android, Hoopla, and Amazon Kindle).

Below is a list of the workshops with a link to the video recordings of each.

Workshop 1: Blog Type: Adult Program Page Homepage Adults News

Read Full Post

One-on-One Seeker Job Assistance Offered by NW Works at Handley Library

Handley Regional Library System is excited to announce a program where individuals can get one-on-one job seeker help from NW Works at Handley Library.  Held the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays of each month from 11AM-12PM, the public can meet with a representative from NW Works for help searching for a job, filling out an application, making a resume, and other job search related tasks. 

To get help, patrons can inquire at the Information Desk at Handley Library during the program time.  Registration is not required.  The individual job seeker program complements the o...

Read Full Post

Dr. Karen Huff to Discuss Children’s Literature at Friends of Handley Regional Library System Annual Meeting

The Friends of Handley Regional Library System will hold their annual meeting on May 19th from 7:00PM-8:30PM online through Zoom.  The meeting is open to the public where the Friends will formally announce the slate of officers for the upcoming year where members of the Friends can vote during the session.  After voting, Dr. Karen Huff, from Shenandoah University, will give a presentation titled, Shenandoah University's Children's Literature Conference:  Continuing the Legacy of Nancy Larrick Crosby.  Crosby, a Winchester native born in 1910, was a Professor of Education...

Read Full Post

This Book Club is for You!

Have you ever joined a book club? Wanted to but never had the opportunity? Never wanted to but thought you should? Still don’t want to but I am making you feel guilty?

Whatever the case, Brown Bag with Books is for you (it’s for everyone!) You can sit back quietly and listen in or talk as much as you want. Believe it or not, friendships have been created out of this club.

We meet monthly via Zoom, on the first Wednesday of the month at noon.  All you need to do is check our website for the book of the month and read it! It’s a great way to push yourself to try a new...

Read Full Post

3-Part Virtual Series: Exploring the Library

We held a special series designed to educate the public on different ways to use library services in March  titled Exploring the Library.  These virtual sessions offered through Zoom were ideal for new, prospective, and current users of all library system locations – Bowman Library, Clarke County Library, and Handley Library. 

Topics included tips and tricks on using the online catalog to access materials and online content, hidden treasures on the library website, and a deep-dive session exploring the 24/7 Digital Library.  To view video of the recorded progra...

Read Full Post

Introducing the Graphic Novel Book Club!

Are you familiar with our adult graphic novel collection? Graphic novels are not just for children or teens. Whether you enjoy fiction, nonfiction, biographies or memoirs, these novels are a format that encompasses all genres and has something for everyone. It is one reason why I enjoy them, since the combination of text and artwork adds variety and something different to my reading list. In between the regular novels I read, it’s great to squeeze in a graphic novel, especially while I’m waiting for my next eBook hold to come in through our Libby app.

Within the past couple of yea...

Read Full Post

Game Nights Are Back! Virtually!

We’re very happy to announce that our After-Hours Game Nights for adults are making a comeback. By teaming up with Discord and the online gaming platform Board Game Arena, we can come together while still keeping our distance. We’ve really missed seeing you all at Game Nights this past year, so we hope you’ll join us again online.

How will it work?

First of all, we’ll be posting the link for our Discord server on the calendar event and our Facebook event page about half an hour before we start so that people can have extra time if they want it to get used to the f...

Read Full Post

Plan Your Next Adventure

The weather has gotten colder but that doesn’t mean you have to be stuck inside. We’re all at greater risk of cabin fever this year, so there’s no time like the present to break out your cold weather gear and a sturdy pair of shoes and hit the trail.

I know that I, for one, have certainly been hiking more this year and gone on more outdoor adventures in general. In light of social distancing concerns, it’s one of the safest ways right now to get exercise and have fun. There’s nothing quite like resting beside a waterfall in a sunny spot at Shenandoah National Park and listening to...

Read Full Post

Virtual Book Club: Brown Bag with Books

Book club participants normally would meet at Clarke County Library and bring their lunch to the discussion, thus the name Brown Bag with Books. But, for now, you can join from the comfort of your own home virtually!

ANYONE can join the book club in any location! Won’t you join us?

Join us LIVE virtually on our next discussion, February 2nd at noon.

To checkout the book from our catalog, click here. 

To checkout the ebook from Libby, click here. 

To checkout the audiobook from Libby, click here. 

... Read Full Post