Blog Entries

Blog Type
Tags
Staff Member

Three Interesting Author Talks Coming Up!

The Friends of Handley Regional Library System will be presenting three informative author talks focusing on different genres.

On Saturday, October 30, a Virtual Author Talk with author Judy Prescott Marshall will be held at 11 AM on Zoom. Registration Information can be found at www.handleyregional.org to receive the Zoom Link. The author of Still Crazy will talk, take questions, and offer a door prize. Her book is great for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Debbie Macomber. Still Crazy is the story of one woman’s journey through pain, betrayal, and forgiveness as she le...

Read Full Post

Lots of Fun for Kids at Handley in October!

Handley Regional Library System will be presenting three epic programs for kids at the Handley Library Branch in October: Girls Who Code Club, Handley Harvest Hoedown, and FrankenToys.

"Girls Who Code” is a series that explores beginner coding skills in a fun and friendly environment just for girls. The program is intended for ages 8-11 and will run on Thursdays from October 13 to November 17 in the Benham Gallery at the Handley Library branch at 4:30 PM. The series lasts six weeks and registration is required for the entire program. Girls Who Code values diversity, equity, and in...

Blog Type: Homepage Kids
Read Full Post

Teens and Young Adults Can Learn Tons at Our Adulting 101 Series

We will be presenting an Adulting 101 Workshop Series for patrons ages 16-21 at the Handley Library branch in the Benham Gallery from 2:00 PM to 3:30 PM on various Saturdays. The series theme is “I’m an Adult, Now What?” This bi-monthly workshop series is designed to prepare teens and young adults for the future of adulthood and the workforce. From budgeting tips to big loads of laundry, patrons will leave with new skills, tricks of the trade from professionals in the field, and earn prizes along the way.

“The Adulting 101 Workshop Series will tackle topics for young adults and te...

Blog Type: Homepage Teens Adults
Read Full Post

Tech Tuesdays are Back!

Handley Regional Library System is pleased to announce the return of its Tech Tuesday Series, free, in-person workshops held at both Bowman and Handley Library locations over the next couple of months for anyone in the community. This series will concentrate on a particular technology topic at each program event and will be run by local technology experts from Experimax and Tech Team Solutions.

The first session will be held on September 21 at 10:30 AM at Bowman Library, and the topic will be iOS Devices. Helpful tips and tricks and answers to any questions about iPhones and iPads...

Read Full Post

12 Ways to Save with Your Handley Regional Library System Card

National Library Card Signup Month runs Sept. 1-Sept. 30. Getting a library card is free and easy. Just stop by with an ID or a utility bill with your current address. Everyone knows you can borrow books from the library with your library card, but did you know there are many other ways to save money with your library card? Here are 12 of them:

 

PrintMe: Print, Copy, Fax, or Scan at Bowman and Handley Libraries or send documents right to the library from home! Much cheaper and more convenient than the big box stores; it’s a benefit we can all use. ... Read Full Post

Library Card Sign Up Month Includes Many Great Activities at All Branches

September is Library Card Sign-Up Month nationwide, and Handley Regional Library System will be celebrating all month long. Since 1987, Library Card Sign-up Month has been held each September to mark the beginning of the school year. During the month, the American Library Association and libraries unite in a national effort to ensure every child signs-up for their own library card.

"We want everyone in the community to enjoy the benefits of having a library card," said John Huddy, Handley Regional Library System Director. "Children as young as 5 can get a card, and we lo...

Blog Type: Homepage
Read Full Post

We're having a 1000 Books Before Kindergarten Graduation!

HRLS will be presenting a very special celebration at the Bowman Library branch in the Children’s Room on September 11, 2021, at 11 AM for young children who completed the 1000 Books Before Kindergarten challenge.

“We will be celebrating those children and their families who completed the challenge to read and/or listen to 1000 books before they go to kindergarten, which is quite a feat! The library system has not been able to hold this graduation in over a year, so it is very exciting to be able to celebrate this huge goal with the children,” said Donna Hughes, Youth Services Sup...

Blog Type: Homepage Kids
Read Full Post

Teen Book Spotlight--Graphic Novels!!!

Our teen book spotlight this week is focused on graphic novels!!!  Graphic novels are incredibly visual stories that can feature pretty much anything fiction and nonfiction.  Done in the style of comic books, there is a huge variety of choices; literally something for everyone so even if you have never read one before, you will definitely be able to find something.  For our talk this week, we have a great selection of nonfiction, fantasy, historical, humor, and realistic to get you started. These books and more can be found by searching the catalog using the search tag #yagre...

Blog Type: Homepage Teens
Read Full Post

Middle Grade Book Spotlight--Graphic Novels!!!

Our Middle Grade book spotlight this week is focused on graphic novels!!!  Graphic novels are incredibly visual stories that can feature pretty much anything fiction and nonfiction.  Done in the style of comic books, there is a huge variety of choices; literally something for everyone so even if you have never read one before, you will definitely be able to find something.  For our talk this week, we have a great selection of nonfiction, fantasy, historical, humor, and realistic to get you started.  These books and more can be found by searching the catalog using the sea...

Blog Type: Homepage Kids
Read Full Post

A Look Back at Virtual Program "Third Thursday-Exploring the Outdoors"

In a time when most of us were spending more time with friends and family outside thanks to COVID-19, The Friends of Handley Regional Library System brought us a multi-part virtual series titled "Third Thursday-Exploring the Outdoors". Each month featured a different outdoor enthusiast presenting their story and sharing tips to enjoy the outdoors. While this program will take a break for the month of August, it will be back in September! Here's a look back at past sessions:

January 21, 2021-The premier featured two Appalachian Trail hikers, Rose "Comics" Turner...

Read Full Post

Fun, Educational Wildlife Program to be Held at Handley Library

Handley Regional Library System will be presenting a fun, educational wildlife program in the Handley Robinson Auditorium at the Handley Library branch on July 23, 2021 in-person at 2 PM for kids, teens, and families as part of their youth summer reading program “Tails and Tales”.

Meet your backyard neighbors and learn about their natural history as well as ways humans can help and not hurt native wildlife. Focus is on the survival skills of area wildlife, the impact of humans on our wild neighbors and the importance each of these animals has to our ecosystem. Animals may include ...

Blog Type: Homepage Kids
Read Full Post

20 Years At Bowman Library

July 16th marks the twentieth anniversary of the opening of the Bowman Library! The library was the culmination of years of planning and work on the part of library staff, county administrators, and dedicated volunteers.

 

 

In August 1998, the Frederick County Board of Supervisors voted to fund the new library for the sum of $4 million dollars. By October of that year, the Lakeside site on Tasker Road in Stephens City was selected for the location of the new library and design plans were underway by the architects. In April of 1999, the library boa...

Blog Type: Homepage Adults
Read Full Post

Welcome to Hoopla flex!

Our digital collection just got better! Starting June 23, 2021, library patrons have even more to love about the digital collection on hoopla. Hoopla is a web and mobile library media streaming platform that allows you to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, eBooks, comics, and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone, even your TV. 

New hoopla Flex Borrows!

In addition to the 3 hoopla Instant borrows you receive each month with your library card, you will now have 6 hoopla Flex borrows you can use on thousands of specially marked hoopla Flex eboo...

Blog Type: Homepage News
Read Full Post

We are Celebrating the 20th Anniversary of Bowman Library!

Handley Regional Library System is thrilled to be celebrating the 20th anniversary of the Mary Jane and James L. Bowman Library, which opened to the public on July 16, 2001. An anniversary celebration will be held on Saturday, July 17, at Bowman Library from 11 AM to 1 PM. The festivities will include a live, old-time music jam session, so community members are encouraged to bring an instrument and join the fun, or just come to enjoy the music. There will also be an indoor family photo booth, a “History of Bowman” outdoor story walk, Mattie’s Mobile Soft Serve for purchase, displays of the ...

Blog Type: Homepage News
Read Full Post

Page Turner ANIMAL Adventures!

Use this login information to gain access:
Username: PTA2021HRL
Password: summer2021

Welcome to Page Turner ANIMAL Adventures! 

Join Storyologists, Page Turner and Kenny as they jump into the Once Upon a Time Machine in search of stories and adventure. Along the way, you’ll participate in awesome shows, create fun crafts, make delicious recipes, and meet some amazing guests. It’s going to be a WILD SUMMER filled with lots of laughs, wonder, imagination, creativity, and, of course, BOOKS. Because... WHEN YOU READ, EVERY DAY IS AN ADVENT...

Blog Type: Homepage Kids
Read Full Post