Blog Entries

Blog Tags
Blog User

Handley Library Branch to Hold Two Upcoming Behind the Scenes Tours for the Public

The Handley Regional Library System is excited to offer two upcoming tours of the downtown Handley Library Branch on Saturday, September 10, and October 8 at 11 AM. This tour is FREE and open to the public. Meet in the Rotunda to start your tour at 11 AM.

The Handley Library branch tour will take you behind the scenes to all floors of the building. Learn about the unique architecture and amazing history of this beautiful library. Walk on the famous glass floors, and see the well under the stage.  

A gift to the City of Winchester by Judge John Handley, Han...

Read Full Post

Don't miss these special events at all 3 branches!

Summer Reading is Underway... Don't miss these awesome, fun, and educational programs at each library location! Didgeridoo Down Under

An energetic fusion of Australian music, culture, comedy, character building, storytelling and audience movement/participation. The didgeridoo has been played by Aboriginal Australians for at least 1,500 years. Didgeridoo Down Under is much more than music. Learn about Aussie culture, sea creatures, and more, all while moving & grooving to the pulsing rhythms of the didgeridoo!

Monday, July 11, 11:00 AM, Clarke County Library

Mon...

Blog Type: Homepage Kids Teens Adults
Read Full Post

Free Rapid Covid-19 Antigen At-Home Test Kits

Handley Regional Library System is now distributing free rapid Covid-19 Antigen at-home test kits at all three library branches starting today as a partnership with the Virginia Department of Health and several other libraries state-wide.

“We are thrilled to be able to offer this free Covid-19 home test kit to do our part to help ensure a safer community,” said John Huddy, Director of Handley Regional Library System. “We want to make this process as quick, easy, and safe as possible to get these kits in the hands of those who need it.”

Not just limited to library patrons...

Blog Type: Homepage News Services
Read Full Post

Winter Reading Challenge 2022 starts in January!

Handley Regional Library System will be presenting a Winter Reading Challenge for youth to run the entire month of January 2022. The theme for this year is “Read for a Better World”, which encourages readers of all ages to explore diversity, empathy, and action through literature.

“We are joining thousands of libraries and schools across the nation that are encouraging their communities to read a target number of books,” says Donna Hughes, Youth Services Division Head.

Handley Regional Library System is challenging youth patrons to read at least 64 books (pre-readers), 1...

Blog Type: Homepage Kids Teens
Read Full Post

Handley Celebrating Computer Science Education Week with Area Schools

In a new community partnership with the Winchester Public Schools' Metrics program, the Handley Youth Services Department is excited to celebrate Computer Science Education Week.

From December 6-11, the library will be providing free programs and services to inspire K-12 students to learn computer science, advocate for equity in computer science education, and celebrate the contributions of local students, teachers, and partners to the field. Students and teachers can interact with a librarian curated computer science booklist for grades K-8 and suggest new titles to expand the li...

Blog Type: Homepage Kids Teens
Read Full Post

Don't Miss These Jolly Holiday Events!

Handley Regional Library System will be presenting several programs for adults, kids, teens, and families for the month of December to reflect the holiday season.

Chanukah Lights is a program to celebrate the Chanukah holiday of lights. Hear the story "If the Candles Could Speak." Make a menorah and play the dreidel game. Bowman Library, December 2, 5:00 PM.

A Who-ville Christmas will Celebrate the holiday with the Whos! Come dressed in your Whoville holiday finest. Stories, puppets, and singing around the tree. Bowman Library, December 4, 11:00 AM.

During A C...

Read Full Post

A Little Noon Music is Back!

The Friends of Handley Regional Library System is thrilled to announce the return of the A Little Noon Music program at the Handley Library location.

A Little Noon Music is a free program where performers come to the library during the lunch hour for the public to enjoy varied styles of music. This current series highlights four different performers over the next few months.

The first performance will be on Friday, November 12, from 12:15 PM to 1:00 PM, at Handley Regional Auditorium at the Handley Library branch and will feature Allen Dec. Mr. Dec is a harpist who has...

Read Full Post

Three Interesting Author Talks Coming Up!

The Friends of Handley Regional Library System will be presenting three informative author talks focusing on different genres.

On Saturday, October 30, a Virtual Author Talk with author Judy Prescott Marshall will be held at 11 AM on Zoom. Registration Information can be found at www.handleyregional.org to receive the Zoom Link. The author of Still Crazy will talk, take questions, and offer a door prize. Her book is great for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Debbie Macomber. Still Crazy is the story of one woman’s journey through pain, betrayal, and forgiveness as she le...

Read Full Post

Lots of Fun for Kids at Handley in October!

Handley Regional Library System will be presenting three epic programs for kids at the Handley Library Branch in October: Girls Who Code Club, Handley Harvest Hoedown, and FrankenToys.

"Girls Who Code” is a series that explores beginner coding skills in a fun and friendly environment just for girls. The program is intended for ages 8-11 and will run on Thursdays from October 13 to November 17 in the Benham Gallery at the Handley Library branch at 4:30 PM. The series lasts six weeks and registration is required for the entire program. Girls Who Code values diversity, equity, and in...

Blog Type: Homepage Kids
Read Full Post

Teens and Young Adults Can Learn Tons at Our Adulting 101 Series

We will be presenting an Adulting 101 Workshop Series for patrons ages 16-21 at the Handley Library branch in the Benham Gallery from 2:00 PM to 3:30 PM on various Saturdays. The series theme is “I’m an Adult, Now What?” This bi-monthly workshop series is designed to prepare teens and young adults for the future of adulthood and the workforce. From budgeting tips to big loads of laundry, patrons will leave with new skills, tricks of the trade from professionals in the field, and earn prizes along the way.

“The Adulting 101 Workshop Series will tackle topics for young adults and te...

Blog Type: Homepage Teens Adults
Read Full Post

Author Talk at Handley: Southern Fried Russia: From Communism to KFC

The Friends of Handley Regional Library System will be presenting an informative and entertaining talk with author Robert Linkous in the Handley Robinson Auditorium at the Handley Library branch on October 6, 2021 in person at 6:30 PM. The program is entitled “Southern Fried Russia: From Communism to KFC.”

Author, Robert Linkous will read and discuss the first chapter in his book “Southern Fried Russia: From Communism to KFC”. There will be time for Q & A.

Robert Linkous was born in Radford, grew up in Roanoke, read Jack Kerouac, and hitchhiked the length of the...

Read Full Post

Tech Tuesdays are Back!

Handley Regional Library System is pleased to announce the return of its Tech Tuesday Series, free, in-person workshops held at both Bowman and Handley Library locations over the next couple of months for anyone in the community. This series will concentrate on a particular technology topic at each program event and will be run by local technology experts from Experimax and Tech Team Solutions.

The first session will be held on September 21 at 10:30 AM at Bowman Library, and the topic will be iOS Devices. Helpful tips and tricks and answers to any questions about iPhones and iPads...

Read Full Post

Extracurricular Activities Fair will be held at the Handley branch on September 18th

Handley Regional Library System will be presenting an Extracurricular Activities Fair in the Handley Library Children’s Room on September 18, 2021, from 2 PM to 4 PM for all ages. 

Do you know what activity you're doing after school this year? Find out at this open house event. Ask questions, try out the activity, and get price breakdowns from local community organizations all in one convenient place. 

Some of the organizations in attendance include: 

Armstrong Irish Dance Academy (live interactive dance demo at 3 PM)  Blue Ridge United So...
Blog Type: Kids Teens
Read Full Post

12 Ways to Save with Your Handley Regional Library System Card

National Library Card Signup Month runs Sept. 1-Sept. 30. Getting a library card is free and easy. Just stop by with an ID or a utility bill with your current address. Everyone knows you can borrow books from the library with your library card, but did you know there are many other ways to save money with your library card? Here are 12 of them:

 

PrintMe: Print, Copy, Fax, or Scan at Bowman and Handley Libraries or send documents right to the library from home! Much cheaper and more convenient than the big box stores; it’s a benefit we can all use. ... Read Full Post